UAP-Greenhills Chapter
UAP-Greenhills Chapter Org News

February 15, 2008

UAP Area A Holds Sandiwa 2008

Contributed by Tamase, Rex

More than three hundred fifty (350) people attended the Sandiwa 2008, the second United Architects of the Philippines Area A Assembly held on February 15-17 at Leo’s Leisure Park in Bacolor, Pampanga.

The attendees included delegates from the different Chapters of Area A, as well as members of the National Board, the College of Fellows, the National Secretariat of the UAP, and sponsors.

The Opening Ceremonies was held during lunch. The General Assembly, held immediately after the Opening Ceremonies produced a resolution calling for the institutionalization of the Area Assembly, which in effect will replace the National Conference of Architects; another resolution passed was for the elections of Area Vice Presidents and District Directors to be held simultaneously with the Area Assemblies; the third resolution calls for the National Convention to be rotated among Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

The opening of exhibits followed the General Assembly, with the delegates and sponsors interacting in a lounge-type of setup.

Pampanga Governor “Among Ed” Panlilio graced the Welcome Dinner, which was followed by the Awards Night and Fellowship.

Seminars were held on Saturday morning, with Prof. Jacinto C. Gavino, Jr. of the Asian Institute of Management speaking on “Strategic Marketing Management for Architects” and Mrs. Cynthia J. Gavino of the Center for Family Ministries tackling “Work and Family Balance.”

The Closing Ceremonies followed the seminars, while the sportfest “Palaro Ning Bostik” (Palaro ng Bostik) was held in the afternoon. District A-4 won the overall championship, followed closely by District A-1A. District A-3 placed third.

The Grand Hiphop Night courtesy of Boysen ended the festivities.

The following are the recipients of the UAP Area A Excellence Awards:

Best UAP Public Relations Program
Award of Excellence – Marikina Valley – Gift-giving and Feeding
Award of Recognition – Rizal-Taytay – Adopt-a-School Trash Can
Award of Merit – Quezon City – Architectonics (Chapter Newsletter)

Best Professional Development Program
Award of Excellence – Diliman – Continuing Professional Development Program
Award of Recognition –Quezon City – Lecture Series
Award of Merit – Ilocos-Ciudad Fernandina – Accessibility

Best Civic Involvement Program
Award of Excellence – Diliman – Construction of School Building cum Book Drive
Award of Recognition – Camanava-Hilaga – Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Week
Award of Merit – Ilocos-Ciudad Fernandina –Blood Letting

Best UAP National Architecture Week Event
Award of Excellence –Ilocos-Ciudad Fernandina – “Pasasalamat Paskong Handog”
Award of Recognition – Pampanga-San Fernando – Green Architecture Seminar and Tree-Planting

Best Joint Program by a Group of UAP Chapters
Award of Excellence – Diliman – Seminar on Low-Cost Housing
Award of Recognition – Marikina Valley – Tree Planting
Award of Merit – Bulacan – Educational Tours/Gift Giving

Most Outstanding UAP Chapter President Award (30-55 members)

Award of Excellence – Abel S. Navarro – Ilocos-Ciudad Fernandina
Award of Recognition – Juanito A. Vinta – Rizal-Taytay
Award of Merit – Dennis Villanueva – Camanava-Hilaga

Most Outstanding UAP Chapter President Award (56-80 members)
Award of Excellence – Toribio E. Estaras – San Juan-Mandaluyong
Award of Recognition – Antonio B. Del Rosario, Jr. – Bulacan

Most Outstanding UAP Chapter President Award (more than 80 members)
Award of Excellence – Minerva Cabrera Rosel – Diliman
Award of Recognition – Richard M. Garcia – Quezon City
Award of Merit – Michael T. Peña – Marikina Valley

Most Outstanding UAP Member Award
Award of Excellence – Joseph Ortega Calasara – Quezon City
Award of Recognition – Rex Balthazar J. Tamase – Diliman
Award of Merit – Marian Eileen T. Florentino – Quezon City

Most Outstanding New UAP Member Award
Award of Excellence – Mohammadsarfraz A. Uttoh – Camanava-Hilaga
Award of Recognition – Leiron Mark S. de Guzman – Quezon City
Award of Merit – Raymond A. Rivada – Ilocos-Ciudad Fernandina